Copy
Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.
New Trojan Program attacks Win and Mac computers
This is NOT a virus, in a virus sense, but it is irritable in it's form and function
The newly found, by idiots if you ask me, Trojan is a Java-script that can be found on social network sites like FACEBOOK — how ironic of the source when my next discussion is coming up about them, this adds another subtopic to the menu.

This TROJAN JAVA SCRIPT, named trojan.osx.boonana.a, starts when the user clicks a link that says, "Is this you in this video?" This link is found more often in a Facebook feed.

Once the link is clicked it runs a Java applet that attempts to download files to any Macintosh system.

It then automatically launches an installer that modifies system files and allows remote access to all files on the system.

It also checks in with control servers to report information from the infected system.

It also automatically runs in the background at start up, and attempts to hide its activities across multiple files.

The thieves who write this malware are then free to remotely connect to your computer and copy any files they wish.

What to do about it
Most sites, forums, and messages boards I visited about this recommend several things to do to eliminate it and avoid it — some of which cost money as they want to sell you their anti-virus software.

If your computer becomes infected, it is easily cured. SecureMac has released a FREE removal tool to eliminate this threat, which can be downloaded by visiting http://www.securemac.com or downloaded directly from http://macscan.securemac.com/files/BTRT.dmg — SEE WHAT I MEAN?

One of the common and smartest things to avoid it is to be diligent in your mouse, url, link clinking:
If a link looks suspicious — and I am not only talking about when you are on the web but with email as well:
  1. right click and copy the link
  2. open a text document
  3. paste the link
  4. verify the link goes to where they say it does.
I have avoided many a sly fox by doing that and finding out that the ebay link they wanted me to click — to update my username and password — did NOT have ebay it its URL.  Of course, I fooled them.  I don't have an ebay account.

But what about those that do and click the link?  Well, now their username and password is in someone else's hands.  This is not just for ebay, but for any company / service / website you have a password for.  Heck I get email to my hotmail account supposedly from hotmail, saying my account will be deleted for inactivity.  Well, I use it everyday to begin with, but do you really think hotmail would do that?  If you do, then go right ahead and click the link, IDIOT!!

The same thing goes for anyone clicking a suspicious link like "Is this you in this video?"  how many people actually have friends and family that would label it that way?  Even my enemies would label it differently.  And for me, I am probably in a handful of videos in my entire life and I have all but two of them. so for me it was easy to avoid that scam, and I have seen that sent to me, but deleted it and the person who sent it to me.

Am I an ass for doing that?  maybe...  Do I care if people think that I am?  NO!  I know my computer is happy and that makes me happy, which is all that counts.  Don't be a boob.  It's those people that eventually come to me to fix their computer... Who's the ass now?

As for the other recommendations that were given, and these are quoted, not from me, but look how ridiculous they are.

"The safest course of action is to not use social networking sites (Facebook, MySpace and Twitter). However, if you insist on using such sites, never click on any messages or links, even if those messages and links that claim to be from people you know. Your friends' names and email addresses are easily forged by malware programs. The message "Is this you in this video?" is an obvious trap but future versions of this malware could easily use different messages."

Agree about the link information, but you really think 500 million people will stop using facebook?

"Users can further protect themselves from infection by turning off Java in their web browser, although this will also block many legitimate web sites. Java can be turned off in Safari by clicking the Security tab under Safari Preferences, and making sure the "Enable Java" checkbox is unchecked. Firefox, Opera, Camino, and other web browsers also can run without Java."

Swell idea, but keep in mind 90% of all websites USE JAVA to run.  Your experience maybe limited and the website maybe rendered non operational.  REAL SMART!  But safe.  Just keep the operational part of the website in mind when you have troubles viewing or surfing.

Finally, use the security features built into OS X. Turn on the built-in firewall, especially when a computer is shared by multiple users. Instructions for turning it on may be found on a number of web sites, including at http://www.cmu.edu/computing/doc/security/mac/firewall.html

Do not buy an anti-virus software, just be diligent about your computer internet surfing experience.  It's just like driving a car, YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR OWN ACTIONS
You have either been added by the admin thinking you would be interested in this information or you have opted in on your own terms. Sorry for the trouble and inconvenience if you do not want to receive this information. Just unsubscribe and we will leave you alone. Peace. But we would love you to join and participate in our group.

Madelyn Helling Library 7-9P.M. first Monday of the month 

Unsubscribe <<Email Address>> from this list | Forward to a friend | Update your profile
Our mailing address is:
Sierra Mousetrap Mac User Group
10897 Walker Drive
Grass Valley, California 95945

Add us to your address book

Copyright (C) 2010 Sierra Mousetrap Mac User Group All rights reserved.
 
Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp