Volume 123, Issue 20. January 2015.
On a mobile device? 
View this email in your browser 
for easier navigation.
Meet The Board
Online Payments
CLE and
Monthly Events

February Meeting:

Topic: Attorney Ad Litem Seminar: "Judges Panel"
Date: February 6, 2015
Time: Seminar begins at 9:00 a.m.
Lunch topic begins at noon
Location: Hilton Garden Inn
Seminar CLE: 7.0 hrs.
Luncheon CLE: 0 hrs.
DCYLA Monthly Meeting:
Monthly meetings are held
the first Thursday of every month.
Contact Jill Jester for meeting times and location
at jjester@minorandjester.com.

Transitions to Practice Monthly Meeting:
Contact Bill Wood
for more info:

REPTL Section Monthly Meeting: 
(New Meeting Location)

Presentation: Ethical Issues in Asset Protection
Speaker: Duncan E. Osborne
Osborne, Helman, Knebel & Deleery, LLP
Austin, TX

Date: Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Time: Noon - 1:00pm
CLE: 1 hour
Specialization Areas:
Estate Planning & Probate
Location: Genti's Italian Restaurant, Hickory Creek, TX

For meeting information
contact Scott Bodkin at sbodkin@minorandjester.com.

The Denton County Family Law Section: 
Date: January 22, 2015
Time: 5:30 p.m. 
Topic: "Evidentiary Stages of CPS Hearings and Tips and Pointers for CPS Jury Trials."
Speaker: Brent Hill 
Location: El Guapos 

Denton County Collaborative Group
Meeting:  1st Tuesday
of Each Month
Time: noon
Location:  Oakmont
Country Club

Bankruptcy Section
Meeting:  2nd Tuesday
of Each Month
For more info: contact
Chris Henry at
or Carol Wolfram at carol@clwolframlegal.com

For info on Denton County Paralegal Meetings, Visit 


January 2015 Newsletter

Civility Among Us
Amie S. Peace

Serving as President of The Denton County Bar Association has been a very rewarding experience.

DCBA Welcomes New Judges

Judge Brody Shanklin
Judge Tiffany Haertling
Judge Coby Waddill
Upcoming CLE:
Denton County 2nd Annual
Ad Litem Training Seminar

Click Here
For Registration Form
Senior Spotlight
 Curtis M. Loveless


Curtis M. Loveless is a local Denton boy who started his
pre-career arguing on the debate team 
in high school.


Make Sense of Psych Evals: The Bucket Approach
John A. Zervopoulos, Ph.D., J.D., ABPP

Can you make sense of psychological evaluation reports? At times, the process is daunting.

Denton County Derby Bench Bar 2015

Click Here
for larger flyer
Renew Your 
Membership Today!

Click on the link below to download the 2014-2015 Membership application or go online to 
www.dentonbar.com  to renew online today!
Click here for Application

Report Your Pro Bono Hours
Click on MyBarPage and Select
Report Pro Bono Hours 
Visit DCBA Facebook page for more fun
event photos!!!

Next Issue Deadline
February 6th

Email your requests to Derbha Jones 
with the subject line "Newsletter"
2015 DCBA Board

Newsletter Committee Members

    â—    Amie Peace (President)
    â—    Derbha Jones (Communications Chair)
    â—    Debbie Mackoy
    â—    Christine Qualls
    â—    Trey Sargent
    â—    Helene Parker

2015 Board Members
    â—    Amie Peace, President
            – apeace@csplaw.net
    â—    Travis Biggs, President Elect
            – travis@dentontitle.com
    â—    Vicki Isaacks, Vice-President
             – visaacks@isaackslegal.com

    â—    Julia Kerestine, Secretary
             – julia@juliakerestine.com
    â—    Andrew M. Lloyd, Treasurer
             – andrew@lloydfirm.com
    â—    Fon Laughlin, Board Member
              â€“ fon@supertitle.com
    â—    Jill O’Connell, Board Member
             – jill@oconnellfirm.com
    â—    Victor Rivera, Board Member
             – victor@riveralegalgroup.com
    â—    Bill Wood, Board Member

    â—   Brian Tackett, Board Member
    â—    Scott Alagood, Board Member
    â—    Derbha Jones, Board Member
    â—    Ted Ogilvie, Past President

2015 Committee Chairs
    â—    Courts/Local Rules Committee: 
          Vicki Isaacks and Grace Weatherly
    â—    Library Board of Governors: 
          Andrew Lloyd
    â—    Social/Membership Committee: 
          Brian Tackett, Scott Alagood,
          Travis Biggs, Daniel Abosalo,
          Chris Hamm, and Jasmine Dodson

    â—    CLE Committee: 
          Victor Rivera and Grace Weatherly
    â—    Newsletter /Communications:
          Derbha Jones, Debbie Mackoy,
          Christine Qualls, Trey Sargent,
          and Helene Parker
    â—    Fee arbitration:  Fon Laughlin and

          Helene Parker
    â—    Pro Bono:  Julia Kerestine,

          Fon Laughlin, Jill O’Connell
    â—    Awards:  Amie Peace, Erin Manley and

          Derbha Jones
    â—    Planning:  Travis Biggs
    â—    Bench Bar:  Vicki Isaacks
    â—    Adoption Day:  Marci Martinez and

          Jill O’Connell
    â—    Transitions to Practice:  Bill Wood,
          Brent Hill, and Judge Bailey

Copyright © *2015* *The Denton County Bar Association*, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
512 W. Hickory St. Denton, Texas 
unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences