Volume 123, Issue 15. August 2014.
On a mobile device? 
View this email in your browser 
for easier navigation.
Meet The Board
Online Payments
Missed an event last month?
Take a look at our gallery for some highlights!
Paralegal Services
CLE and
Monthly Events

DCAP Sign-Up Party
Date: August 21, 2014
Time: 5:30 p.m.- 10:30 p.m.
Location: Fresco's Mexicana
2420 Justin Rd.
Highland Village, Tx.

Adoption Day
- Attorney Training

Date: August 22, 2014
Time: Noon - 1:30 p.m.
Location:  Denton Courthouse
CLE: 1.5 hrs.
Contact Marci Martinez at marci@oconnellfirm.com
for more info.

DCBA Monthly Meeting:
Speaker: Mike Gregory
Topic: Negotiation and Mediation
Time: Noon
Location: Hilton Garden Inn
CLE Credit: .75 hours Mediation
                  .25 hours Ethics

DCBA UNT Tailgate

Date: Sept. 6, 2014
Apogee Stadium Parking Area
Contact Erin Manley for more info:

DCBA Meet and Skeet Event
Date: September 13, 2014
Time: 3:00 p.m.
Home of Brent and Gina Hill
Contact Erin Manley for more info:

DCYLA Monthly Meeting:
Monthly meetings are held
the first Thursday of every month.
Contact Jill Jester for meeting times and location
at jjester@minorandjester.com.

DCYLA September
Happy Hour:

September 18, 2014
Location: Sneaky Pete's
Sponsored by Neal-Ashmore and Julian, Crowder
& Shuster, P.C.

Transitions to Practice Monthly Meeting:
September 19, 2014
Location: Denton Country Club
Time: 11:45 a.m. - 1:45 pm
Contact Bill Wood for more info:

DCAP 10 Year Anniversary
September 25, 2014
Time: 5 pm - 7 pm
Location: DCBA/ DCAP Office

REPTL Section Monthly Meeting:
September 24, 2014
(4th Wednesday):
TOPIC: “Efiling from the Perspectives of the Probate Court and Practitioners”
SPEAKERS: Open forum for sharing of problems and remedies led by Judge Bonnie Robison and Robert Stack
PLACE: Wildwood Inn, Denton, TX
CLE: 1 Hour

For meeting information contact Scott Bodkin at sbodkin@minorandjester.com.

Denton County Collaborative Group
Meeting:  1st Tuesday of Each Month
Time: noon
Location:  Oakmont
Country Club

Bankruptcy Section
Meeting:  2nd Tuesday
of Each Month
For more info: contact
Chris Henry at
or Carol Wolfram at carol@clwolframlegal.com

For info on Denton County Paralegal Meetings
Visit  www.dentonparalegal.org


August 2014 Newsletter

Focus On: Business Transactions and Employment Law

Bar Leaders Conference 2014
Amie S. Peace

Each year The State Bar of Texas hosts a 2-day leadership training for officers and directors of Bar Associations and Texas Young Lawyers affiliates across the State.


See more photos...

Tom Jester Condolence

With a heavy heart,
the Denton County Bar Association announces the passing of our beloved member and friend,
Tom Jester.
Letter from Erin
Erin Manley, Director of the DCBA

In September 2004, the Denton County ADR Program (DCAP) opened its doors for Denton County court-ordered mediations.


See more photos...
Senior Spotlight
 Robert N. Eames

Robert (“Bob”) N. Eames graduated with his Juris Doctorate from Texas Tech University.

The Fair Labor Standards Act,
The Flexible Workweek Exception
and Law Office Personnel

Hugh Coleman

The flexible workweek exception is an alternative to the traditional 9 to 5, 40-hour workweek. A flexible workweek schedule can benefit many employees and lessens the financial burdens of nonexempt staff in law firms.


Buying and Selling a Business:
A Few Important Steps to Consider

R. Scott Alagood

The general types of businesses that could be purchased or sold are sole proprietorships, partnerships (general and limited), corporations, and limited liability companies.

Do Psychological Tests Catch Liars?
John A. Zervopoulos, Ph.D., J.D., ABPP
Representing a mother in a child custody case,
Ms. Smith grew concerned when the judge ordered
her client, her client’s ex-husband, and the two
children to undergo a psychological evaluation.

Attorney Training for
Denton County Adoption Day

Friday, November 14, 2014
Any Attorney wishing to serve pro bono on an adoption for a family on this day will need to attend this training.

Transitions to Practice
Mentoring Program
Accepting New Members

This Program was created to allow interested mentees
to meet new court requirements for appointment
lists and gain invaluable mentorship.

Renew Your  Membership
August 2014
Click on the link below to download the 2014-2015 Membership application or go online to 
www.dentonbar.com  to renew online today!

Click here for Application

Report Your Pro Bono Hours
Click on MyBarPage and Select Report Pro Bono Hours Report Your Pro Bono Hours Today
Visit DCBA Facebook page for more fun
event photos!!!

Next Issue Deadline
September 6th

Email your requests to Kelly with the subject line "Newsletter" or call 972-890-1128.
2014-2015 DCBA Board

Newsletter Committee Members

    â—    Amie Peace (President)
    â—    Derbha Jones (Communications Chair)
    â—    Debbie Mackoy
    â—    Christine Qualls
    â—    Trey Sargent
    â—    Helene Parker

2014-2015 Board Members
    â—    Amie Peace, President
            – apeace@csplaw.net
    â—    Travis Biggs, President Elect
            – travis@dentontitle.com
    â—    Vicki Isaacks, Vice-President
             – visaacks@isaackslegal.com

    â—    Julia Kerestine, Secretary
             – julia@juliakerestine.com
    â—    Andrew M. Lloyd, Treasurer
             – andrew@lloydfirm.com
    â—    Fon Laughlin, Board Member
              â€“ fon@supertitle.com
    â—    Jill O’Connell, Board Member
             – jill@oconnellfirm.com
    â—    Victor Rivera, Board Member
             – victor@riveralegalgroup.com
    â—    Bill Wood, Board Member

    â—   Brian Tackett, Board Member
    â—    Scott Alagood, Board Member
    â—    Derbha Jones, Board Member
    â—    Ted Ogilvie, Past President

2014-2015 Committee Chairs
    â—    Courts/Local Rules Committee: 
          Vicki Isaacks and Grace Weatherly
    â—    Library Board of Governors: 
          Andrew Lloyd
    â—    Social/Membership Committee: 
          Brian Tackett, Scott Alagood,
          Travis Biggs, Daniel Abosalo,
          Chris Hamm, and Jasmine Dodson

    â—    CLE Committee: 
          Victor Rivera and Grace Weatherly
    â—    Newsletter /Communications:
          Derbha Jones, Debbie Mackoy,
          Christine Qualls, Trey Sargent,
          and Helene Parker
    â—    Fee arbitration:  Fon Laughlin and

          Helene Parker
    â—    Pro Bono:  Julia Kerestine,

          Fon Laughlin, Jill O’Connell
    â—    Awards:  Amie Peace, Erin Manley and

          Derbha Jones
    â—    Planning:  Travis Biggs
    â—    Bench Bar:  Vicki Isaacks
    â—    Adoption Day:  Marci Martinez and

          Jill O’Connell
    â—    Transitions to Practice:  Bill Wood,
          Brent Hill, and Judge Bailey

Copyright © *2014* *The Denton County Bar Association*, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
512 W. Hickory St. Denton, Texas 
unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences