Volume 123, Issue 21. February 2015.
On a mobile device? 
View this email in your browser 
for easier navigation.
Meet The Board
Online Payments
The Members of the DCBA extends our sincere condolences to Grace Weatherly on the loss of her mother, Frances Belk Groce.
The family requests that donations be made to Era Methodist Church in lieu of flowers.

CLE and
Monthly Events

March Luncheon:

Speaker: Trey Apffel
State Bar of Texas President
Topic: State Bar Update
Date: March 13, 2015
Time: Noon
Location: Hilton Garden Inn, Denton, Texas
CLE Hours: 
NOTE: March meeting
will be held on the Second Friday of March

DCYLA Monthly Meeting:
Monthly meetings are held
the first Thursday of every month.
Contact Jill Jester for meeting times and location
at jjester@minorandjester.com.

Transitions to Practice Monthly Meeting:
Contact Bill Wood
for more info:

REPTL Section Monthly Meeting: 
Note: (New Meeting Location)

Presentation: Estate Planing:
Drafting Issue that Come Back to Haunt
Speaker: Alfred Christian "Chris" Klemme
Happy State Bank and Trust Co.
16633 N. Dallas Pkwy., Ste. 350
Addison, TX 75001

David James "Dave" Reber
Johnson Jordan Cresswell Monk, PC
17300 Dallas Pkwy. Ste. 2050
Dallas, TX 75248

Date: Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Time: Noon - 1:00pm
Location: Genti's Italian Restaurant, Hickory Creek, TX

CLE: 1 hour
Specialization Areas:
Estate Planning & Probate

For meeting information
contact Scott Bodkin at sbodkin@minorandjester.com.

The Denton County Family Law Section: 

Presentation: Tips, Procedures, and Practice in the 442nd Judicial District Court

Speaker: Judge Tiffany Heartling

442nd Judicial District Court

Date: February 26, 2015

Time: 5:30 p.m.

Location: Hannah’s, Denton, Tx.

CLE Hours: One Hour


Co-sponsored by DCAP: Opportunity for Attorneys to Sign-up to serve as Volunteer Mediators for DCAP. 

Denton County Collaborative Group
Meeting:  1st Tuesday
of Each Month
Time: noon
Location:  Oakmont
Country Club

Bankruptcy Section
Meeting:  2nd Tuesday
of Each Month
For more info: contact
Chris Henry at
or Carol Wolfram at carol@clwolframlegal.com

For info on Denton County Paralegal Meetings, Visit 


February 2015 Newsletter

We Want You
Amie S. Peace

The Denton County Bar Association will begin
the slating process this 
month. If you are interested
in becoming a board member or volunteering for a 
committee, please let us know.


Trey Apffel
State Bar of Texas President
DCBA March 13, 2015 Speaker

Topic: State Bar Update
Location: Hilton Inn,
Denton, Texas

March meeting will be held on
the Second Friday of March

DCBA Welcomes Trey Apffel

Trey Apffel, State Bar of Texas President 2014-2015 will be the speaker for the DCBA March Luncheon to be held March 13, 2015.
Denton County
Bench Bar 2015

Click Here
to see the flyer
for registration
Senior Spotlight
 Hardy F. Burke, III

Hardy F. Burke, III, been practicing law in Denton County for nearly 42 years.


Are The MH Expert's Opinions Stale?
John A. Zervopoulos, Ph.D., J.D., ABPP

Stale expert opinions are neither relevant nor reliable.

Texas Lawyers for Texas Veterans/
Legal Aid of Northwest Clinic

The first combined Texas Lawyers for Texas Veterans/ Legal Aid of Northwest Texas clinic was held Monday, February 9th in Lewisville.


Thank you for a Great DCBA
“2nd Attorney Ad Litem Training Seminar”

Thank You to the Organizers, Judges and
Speakers for very informative DCBA 2015
“2nd Attorney Ad Litem Training Seminar

See Photos...


New Denton County Standing Orders
Effective as of February 2, 2015

Please note that there were no substantive changes made. The changes made were as follows: the addition of the 442nd Judicial District Court and the two new Judges, clarification/update of a few things in Section 10 on page 4 (specifically, that it applies only in SAPCRs/Modifications; the deadline is 60 days from service on Respondent, and updated phone numbers for two (2) of the parenting courses).

Click Here
for Updated Denton County Standing Orders

Renew Your 
Membership Today!

Click on the link below to download the 2014-2015 Membership application or go online to 
www.dentonbar.com  to renew online today!
Click here for Application

Report Your Pro Bono Hours
Click on MyBarPage and Select
Report Pro Bono Hours 
Visit DCBA Facebook page for more fun
event photos!!!

Next Issue Deadline
March 6th

Email your requests to Derbha Jones 
with the subject line "Newsletter"
2015 DCBA Board

Newsletter Committee Members

    â—    Amie Peace (President)
    â—    Derbha Jones (Communications Chair)
    â—    Debbie Mackoy
    â—    Christine Qualls
    â—    Trey Sargent
    â—    Helene Parker

2015 Board Members
    â—    Amie Peace, President
            – apeace@csplaw.net
    â—    Travis Biggs, President Elect
            – travis@dentontitle.com
    â—    Vicki Isaacks, Vice-President
             – visaacks@isaackslegal.com

    â—    Julia Kerestine, Secretary
             – julia@juliakerestine.com
    â—    Andrew M. Lloyd, Treasurer
             – andrew@lloydfirm.com
    â—    Fon Laughlin, Board Member
              â€“ fon@supertitle.com
    â—    Jill O’Connell, Board Member
             – jill@oconnellfirm.com
    â—    Victor Rivera, Board Member
             – victor@riveralegalgroup.com
    â—    Bill Wood, Board Member

    â—   Brian Tackett, Board Member
    â—    Scott Alagood, Board Member
    â—    Derbha Jones, Board Member
    â—    Ted Ogilvie, Past President

2015 Committee Chairs
    â—    Courts/Local Rules Committee: 
          Vicki Isaacks and Grace Weatherly
    â—    Library Board of Governors: 
          Andrew Lloyd
    â—    Social/Membership Committee: 
          Brian Tackett, Scott Alagood,
          Travis Biggs, Daniel Abosalo,
          Chris Hamm, and Jasmine Dodson

    â—    CLE Committee: 
          Victor Rivera and Grace Weatherly
    â—    Newsletter /Communications:
          Derbha Jones, Debbie Mackoy,
          Christine Qualls, Trey Sargent,
          and Helene Parker
    â—    Fee arbitration:  Fon Laughlin and

          Helene Parker
    â—    Pro Bono:  Julia Kerestine,

          Fon Laughlin, Jill O’Connell
    â—    Awards:  Amie Peace, Erin Manley and

          Derbha Jones
    â—    Planning:  Travis Biggs
    â—    Bench Bar:  Vicki Isaacks
    â—    Adoption Day:  Marci Martinez and

          Jill O’Connell
    â—    Transitions to Practice:  Bill Wood,
          Brent Hill, and Judge Bailey

Copyright © *2015* *The Denton County Bar Association*, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
512 W. Hickory St. Denton, Texas 
unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences