Volume 123, Issue 19. December 2014.
On a mobile device? 
View this email in your browser 
for easier navigation.
Meet The Board
Online Payments
Missed an event last month?
Take a look at our gallery for some highlights!
CLE and
Monthly Events

Monthly Meeting:

Date: January 2, 2015
Time: Noon
Speaker: To be determined
Topic: This meeting will be a networking luncheon!
Location: Hilton Garden Inn

Denton County "Family Law Section" Monthly Meeting
The Family Law Section will be hosting a Canned Food Drive for the December Meeting.
Date:  Thursday, December 18, 2014
Place: Mulberry Street Cantina
Time: 5:30-6:30pm
Join the Family Law Section for Drinks and Merriment.
Bring 3 Canned Good Items and be entered into a raffle for your chance to win a $50.00 Visa Gift Card, a $25.00 Chuy's Gift Certificate or a $25.00 BJ Restaurant and Brewhouse Gift Certificate.
DCYLA Monthly Meeting:
Monthly meetings are held
the first Thursday of every month.
Contact Jill Jester for meeting times and location
at jjester@minorandjester.com.

Transitions to Practice Monthly Meeting:
Contact Bill Wood
for more info:

REPTL Section Monthly Meeting: 
Speaker: Mark McPherson
Presentation: "What Happens to Your Client's Property in an EBOLA Case"
Date: Wednesday, Dec. 17th, 2014
Time: Noon - 1:00pm
CLE: 1 hour
Cost: $17.00 for Luncheon
Location: Wildwood Inn, Denton, Texas
(Last Meeting at this location - Watch for Upcoming Details for Spring Meetings)

For meeting information
contact Scott Bodkin at sbodkin@minorandjester.com.

Denton County Collaborative Group
Meeting:  1st Tuesday
of Each Month
Time: noon
Location:  Oakmont
Country Club

Bankruptcy Section
Meeting:  2nd Tuesday
of Each Month
For more info: contact
Chris Henry at
or Carol Wolfram at carol@clwolframlegal.com

For info on Denton County Paralegal Meetings, Visit 


December 2014 Newsletter

The Places We Will Go
Amie S. Peace

Last month, we celebrated National Adoption Day
with our Denton County Adoption Day.


Swearing In of George A. Preston, Jr.
By Bill Trantham

George A. Preston, Jr. was the son of
George A Preston, Sr. the co-owner of what is
called Jagoe Public, a large paving company on
South Ft. Worth Drive in Denton.


DCYLA Swearing In Ceremony

More Photos...
Did The MH Expert
Misuse Test Results? 

John A. Zervopoulos, Ph.D., J.D., ABPP

Mental health experts misuse the MMPI-2 and other psychological tests when they rely primarily
on test results to 
their opinions.

DCBA Christmas Party 

See Photos...

Attorney Charles E. Beachley, III’s 
Theatrical Performances


Denton County Derby Bench Bar 2015

Click Here
for larger flyer
Upcoming CLE:
Denton County 2nd Annual
Ad Litem Training Seminar

Date: February 6, 2015
Stay Tuned for More Details
Renew Your 
Membership Today!

Click on the link below to download the 2014-2015 Membership application or go online to 
www.dentonbar.com  to renew online today!
Click here for Application

Report Your Pro Bono Hours
Click on MyBarPage and Select
Report Pro Bono Hours 
Visit DCBA Facebook page for more fun
event photos!!!

Next Issue Deadline
January 6th

Email your requests to Derbha Jones 
with the subject line "Newsletter"
2014-2015 DCBA Board

Newsletter Committee Members

    â—    Amie Peace (President)
    â—    Derbha Jones (Communications Chair)
    â—    Debbie Mackoy
    â—    Christine Qualls
    â—    Trey Sargent
    â—    Helene Parker

2014-2015 Board Members
    â—    Amie Peace, President
            – apeace@csplaw.net
    â—    Travis Biggs, President Elect
            – travis@dentontitle.com
    â—    Vicki Isaacks, Vice-President
             – visaacks@isaackslegal.com

    â—    Julia Kerestine, Secretary
             – julia@juliakerestine.com
    â—    Andrew M. Lloyd, Treasurer
             – andrew@lloydfirm.com
    â—    Fon Laughlin, Board Member
              â€“ fon@supertitle.com
    â—    Jill O’Connell, Board Member
             – jill@oconnellfirm.com
    â—    Victor Rivera, Board Member
             – victor@riveralegalgroup.com
    â—    Bill Wood, Board Member

    â—   Brian Tackett, Board Member
    â—    Scott Alagood, Board Member
    â—    Derbha Jones, Board Member
    â—    Ted Ogilvie, Past President

2014-2015 Committee Chairs
    â—    Courts/Local Rules Committee: 
          Vicki Isaacks and Grace Weatherly
    â—    Library Board of Governors: 
          Andrew Lloyd
    â—    Social/Membership Committee: 
          Brian Tackett, Scott Alagood,
          Travis Biggs, Daniel Abosalo,
          Chris Hamm, and Jasmine Dodson

    â—    CLE Committee: 
          Victor Rivera and Grace Weatherly
    â—    Newsletter /Communications:
          Derbha Jones, Debbie Mackoy,
          Christine Qualls, Trey Sargent,
          and Helene Parker
    â—    Fee arbitration:  Fon Laughlin and

          Helene Parker
    â—    Pro Bono:  Julia Kerestine,

          Fon Laughlin, Jill O’Connell
    â—    Awards:  Amie Peace, Erin Manley and

          Derbha Jones
    â—    Planning:  Travis Biggs
    â—    Bench Bar:  Vicki Isaacks
    â—    Adoption Day:  Marci Martinez and

          Jill O’Connell
    â—    Transitions to Practice:  Bill Wood,
          Brent Hill, and Judge Bailey

Copyright © *2014* *The Denton County Bar Association*, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
512 W. Hickory St. Denton, Texas 
unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences