Q&A: How Bell Can Help Your Community Bank
No assets, 2 employees. That was the start of Bell Bank’s correspondent banking department back in 2003. Today, our correspondent team is a thriving part of Bell, with 15 employees and more than $575 million in committed assets, in partnership with our correspondent banks.
 
When many banks stopped offering correspondent services during the recession, Bell actually expanded our sales and underwriting staff and looked to grow.
 
“We zigged when everybody else was zagging,” says Tom Ishaug, Bell’s correspondent banking manager. “As others dropped out, we continued to buy … ”

Read full article

The Deals We Love (and a Few We Don’t)
When it comes to correspondent lending deals, we’re open to everything, from $5,000 up to $20 million. We want to look at every opportunity …

Find out more

6 Steps in Getting Your Deal Done
We provide a lot of flexibility in structure and terms, with tailored loans rather than one-size-fits-all.
 
Here’s the 6-step process for leveraging Bell’s lending capacity …

Read on
Ag Lending? Work with a Leader
Despite the current down cycle in the ag economy, Bell is still very active in the ag market. With that sector of our portfolio continuing to grow, we’ve added a regional ag banking leader to our correspondent team.
 
Having started with “hay in my hair and manure on my shoes,” Lynn Paulson has had firsthand knowledgeable of ag economics, through good times and bad.
 
Read Lynn’s profile
Fourth-Quarter Financials
Bell Bank
December 2016

Capital Ratios
Common Equity Tier 1 Capital
10.41%
Total Risk-Based Capital
11.49%
Leverage
9.12%
Key Call Report Information
Total Assets
$4,181,458,000
Total Liabilities
$3,795,705,000
Total Capital
$385,753,000
Total Loans
$3,694,042,000
Total Correspondent Loans
$458,720,000
Total Loss Reserve
$38,524,000
Net Income
$42,893,000
Call us for flexible underwriting, competitive rates and fast decisions.

Tom Ishaug
Fargo
701.866.4676
tishaug@bellbanks.com

Gary Keller
Fargo
701.371.3355
gkeller@bellbanks.com

Tracy Peterson
Minneapolis
612.270.3314
tpeterson@bellbanks.com

Gene Uher
Sioux Falls
605.201.1864
guher@bellbanks.com

Mary Voss
Des Moines
515.577.0070
mvoss@BellBanks.com

Denise Bunbury
Madison, Wis.
608.234.1438
dbunbury@BellBanks.com