Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.

Dear Member of the Press,
 

Starting July 1st, we're rolling out 15 announcements, one every weekday (except for July 4th, of course!), leading up to Comic-Con International in San Diego, which starts July 23rd! It's a very exciting time at BOOM! Studios and I hope you share all of our news with your readers.  


Here is Announcement #2!
 

ARCHAIA RELAUNCHES 'SPERA'
WITH LONG-FORM GRAPHIC NOVEL
FORMAT BEGINNING WITH 'ASCENSION
OF THE STARLESS' VOL. 1


Spera: Ascension of the Starless Vol. 1

July 2,  2014 - Los Angeles, CA - Archaia, the award-winning imprint of publisher BOOM! Studios, is pleased to announce the October debut of the SPERA: ASCENSION OF THE STARLESS VOL. 1 original graphic novel hardcover. Eisner Award-nominated writer Josh Tierney has once again assembled some of the most talented web and indie creators in the industry for this fresh new story in the world of Spera, including Giannis Milonogiannis (OLD CITY BLUES), Atelier Sentô (which is comprised of the duo of Cécile Brun and Olivier Pichard), Mindy Lee, Sourya Sihachakr (Rouge), and Valentin Seiche (Anguille et Baldaquin).

SPERA is a stunningly illustrated mash-up of some of the best things in life: webcomics, young-adult fantasy, retro video games, pulp adventure comics, and fairy tales. Fans of Zelda, Avatar: The Last Airbender, Frozen, author Tamora Pierce, and LUMBERJANES will love this series! Following the three previously released volumes of SPERA, ASCENSION OF THE STARLESS is the launch of a new, epic, multi-volume story that follows the adventures of two princesses as they once again join forces to combat a common threat. This is the perfect starting point for new readers to fall in love with SPERA charcacters Pira, Lono, Chobo, and Yonder alongside loyal fans of the series.

“After the outpouring of love for LUMBERJANES, we have a feeling a lot of our readers are going to dig this new SPERA graphic novel, starring the fierce duo of Princesses Pira and Lono,” said BOOM! Studios Editor-in-Chief Matt Gagnon. “Josh has crafted a rich world with great characters, and seeing this story unfold with the talents of Giannis and so many other wonderful artists is a real treat.”

In SPERA: ASCENSION OF THE STARLESS VOL. 1, the Starless Queen is plotting an invasion of Spera, and has sent the merciless General Zeal to secure its capital. Unfortunately for the Queen, exiled adventurer Princess Pira—the Queen’s own daughter—and Pira’s best friend Princess Lono have discovered her plot…and will go to any lengths to stop her. Along with their friends—the fire spirit, Yonder, and the ruthless cat, Chobo—Pira and Lono set off on a perilous journey to warn the Speran King, up monster-infested mountains, through a village full of crazed warriors, and down dark tunnels walled with madness itself.

The SPERA: ASCENSION OF THE STARLESS VOL. 1 original graphic novel hardcover (176 pages, 6” x 9”, full color, ISBN: 978-1-60886-414-0) arrives from Archaia in comic shops on October 1st and bookstores on October 7th with a cover price of $24.99 and features a cover illustrated by Afu Chan. Not sure where to find your nearest comic retailer? Use comicshoplocator.com or findacomicshop.com to find one!


ABOUT BOOM! STUDIOS

Founded by Ross Richie in 2005, Diamond Gem Award-winning “Best Publisher” BOOM! Studios (boom-studios.com) generates a constellation of best-selling Eisner and Harvey Award-winning original and licensed comic books and graphic novels with the industry’s top talent. BOOM! Studios is the home of Mike Carey’s SUICIDE RISK, Clive Barker’s NEXT TESTAMENT and HELLRAISER, Paul Jenkins and Humberto Ramos’ FAIRY QUEST, PLANET OF THE APES, Max Bemis’ POLARITY and Mark Waid’s IRREDEEMABLE. Steven Grant’s graphic novel 2 GUNS was recently released as a feature film from Universal Pictures, starring Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg. BOOM!’s all-ages imprint KaBOOM! publishes Charles Schulz’ PEANUTS, Jim Davis’ GARFIELD, Cartoon Network’s ADVENTURE TIME and REGULAR SHOW, Mike Kunkel’s HEROBEAR AND THE KID, and Roger Langridge’s Eisner Award-winning SNARKED. In June 2013, BOOM! acquired Archaia Entertainment (archaia.com). Archaia is the Eisner and Harvey Award-winning graphic novel publisher of MOUSE GUARD, COW BOY, GUNNERKRIGG COURT, RUST, SPERA, JIM HENSON’S TALE OF SAND, and many other great titles. In October 2013, BOOM! Studios entered into a unique first-look relationship with 20th Century Fox, giving the studio access to its library of titles and giving the publisher access to Fox's vast catalog of films.

Dear Member of the Press,

Please find below the proper social media usernames should you wish to tag us or the creators on social media when you share this press release. Thanks!

BOOM! Studios
Twitter = @boomstudios
Facebook = facebook.com/BOOMStudiosComics


Josh Tierney
Twitter = @jwtierney
Tumblr = 
http://joshtierney.tumblr.com

Giannis Milonogiannis
Tumblr = 
http://milonogiannis.tumblr.com

Atelier Sentô
Twitter = @AtelierSento
Tumblr = 
http://atelier-sento.tumblr.com

Mindy Lee
Tumblr = 
http://mindyleedoodles.tumblr.com

Sourya Sihachakr
Tumblr = 
http://sulhya.tumblr.com

Valentin Seiche
Tumblr =
http://airfortress.tumblr.com

Afu Chan
Twitter = @AfuChan1
Tumblr = 
http://afuchan.tumblr.com
 

You are receiving this email because you have asked to join or have agreed to our personal solicitation to become a part of the BOOM! Studios or the Archaia press list.

Unsubscribe heidi.macdonald@gmail.com from this list | Forward to a friend | Update your profile

Our mailing address is:
BOOM! Studios
5670 Wilshire Blvd
Suite 450
Los Angeles, CA 90036

Add us to your address book


Copyright (C) 2014 BOOM! Studios All rights reserved.