Is this email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.

WYHIMA Newsletter
December 2012

CCHIIM Releases New Details on ICD-10 Recertification for AHIMA Certified Professionals

CCHIIM’s new recertification policy specific to ICD-10-CM/PCS is an important guide designed to help prepare all AHIMA certified professionals for whatever changes ICD-10-CM/PCS may bring.

The required ICD-10-CM/PCS continuing education units determined by CCHIIM are applicable to the specific AHIMA credential(s) held by the individual. Earning these CEUs validates that certified professionals have gained knowledge of the new coding system and are able to integrate this knowledge into their positions. The total number of ICD-10-CM/PCS CEUs required by AHIMA credential is as follows:

  • CHPS — 1
  • CHDA — 6
  • RHIT — 6
  • RHIA — 6
  • CCS-P — 12
  • CDIP — 12
  • CCS — 18
  • CCA — 18

The policy was created to reflect the different needs of HIM professionals in regards to ICD-10-CM/PCS. To reap the most benefits from their continuing education hours, AHIMA certified professionals are encouraged to choose experiences which relate as closely as possible to their job roles. Some examples of educational opportunities to fulfill these requirements include but are not limited to:

  • Introduction to ICD-10 Basics
  • Business Impact and Implementation Considerations
  • Understanding General Equivalence Mappings (GEMs)
  • ICD-10-CM Structure, Guidelines and Conventions
  • Clinical Documentation Improvement Strategies using ICD-10 CM
  • Biomedical Science coursework such as Anatomy and Physiology and pathophysiology refresher courses

AHIMA certified professionals are able to earn ICD-10-CM/PCS specific CEUs during the period of January 1, 2011 - December 31, 2014. All certificants must complete their ICD-10 CEUs by 2014. Even if you are due to report this year or next year, your ICD-10 CEUs are not due until 2014. You are able to report some or all of the ICD-10 CEUs in your current cycle but are not required to report until the December 31, 2014, deadline.

Have you already earned some or all of your ICD-10 CEUs? You are now able to report CEUs via the online CEU Center in the domain of ICD-10. These CEUs will count towards your ICD-10 recertification requirement.

On the Job Board

Click here to learn more!

Records & Data Management Specialist I
State of Wyoming - Dept of Health


Remote Coder-UASI
United Audit Systems, Inc.

IP/OP Coders, CDI Specialists
On Call Consulting

Travel and Remote Coding position
Kforce Healthcare

Remote or Travel Medical Coders
Comforce Coding Services

ED/OP Revenue Cycle Coder

Copyright © 2012 KnowledgeConnex, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
607 Ronald Reagan Drive
PO Box #1757
Evans, GA 30809

Add us to your address book