E-mail not displaying correctly? View this e-mail online.
North American Quitline Consortium

Dear <<First Name>>,

On August 2nd, 2010, the NAQC board of directors convened a special meeting to elect officers for FY 2011. We would like to thank the members of the Nominating committee (committee chair and board member Becky Roberson; board members Sharon Campbell and Karla Sneegas; and NAQC members Judy Martin, Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services and Vance Rabius, consultant) for their work.  We congratulate our newly appointed officers and looking forward to working with them in the coming year.

Board Officers for 2010-2011

Penny Thomsen, Chair
Health Charity CEO (retired)
North Saanich, BC, Canada

Karla Sneegas, MPH, Vice-Chair
Executive Director
Indiana Tobacco Use Prevention and Cessation Executive Board
Indianapolis, IN, USA

Paul Lapierre, Secretary
Vice President Public Affairs and Cancer Control
Canadian Cancer Society
Toronto, ON, Canada

Becky Roberson, CPA, Treasurer
Senior Vice President
Information and Quality Healthcare
Ridgeland, MS, USA

Terry Music, Executive Committee Member-at-Large
Chief Mission Officer
American Cancer Society
Atlanta, GA, USA
Board Member Resignations
NAQC would like to thank two board members who recently resigned -- Matt Madonna and Tim McAfee -- for their commitment to the growth and success of the organization. 

Matt Madonna was a founding board member and has served on the board and as Treasurer since 2006. With Matt’s oversight, NAQC established a more comprehensive budget tracking system, launched a plan for membership dues, and built a more senior financial management system. Matthew Madonna retired as president and chief executive officer of the American Cancer Society (Southwest Division) where he logged 32 years of progressively responsible positions all over the country. Matt remains politically active and was instrumental in the passage of three statewide initiatives in AZ: raising the tobacco tax by $1.00; dedicating a portion of the tax to the state’s tobacco control program; and creating smoke-free public buildings. He currently serves as a member of the Arizona TRUST Commission, providing oversight and advice to the Arizona Department of Health Services on the expenditure of tobacco tax revenue including the state’s quitline. We wish Matt all the best in his continued support of the tobacco cessation field!

Tim McAfee, MD, MPH is a founding board member and also served as Secretary on the NAQC board. In September of 2010 Tim joins CDC as the Director of the Office on Smoking and Health, following a distinguished career in tobacco control as a clinician, researcher, and public health evaluator.  Since 2003, he has served as the Chief Medical Officer and Senior VP of Clinical and Behavioral Sciences for Free & Clear, a Seattle-based health care company dedicated to supporting health-related behavior change.  He is also affiliated with the Center for Health Studies at Group Health Cooperative, as well as the Department of Health Services in the School of Public Health at the University of Washington. Dr. McAfee has worked nationally and internationally to help establish a new model of multi-system comprehensive tobacco treatment. We wish Tim continued success in his new position at CDC!

To view the current list of board members and officers, please visit the NAQC board page.

If you have questions about the NAQC Board of Directors, its officers, or the election process, please contact the Board at board@naquitline.org or NAQC President and CEO, Linda Bailey at lbailey@naquitline.org.
Unsubscribe <<Email Address>> from this list | Forward to a friend | Update your profile
Copyright (C) 2010 North American Quitline Consortium All rights reserved.