Copy
This week: drawing what it’s like to make art, the magic of walking, and more...

View this email in your browser
.
A newsletter from Austin Kleon
yay art ! - ugh kill me - take it it's done
Hey y’all,

Here are 10 things I thought were worth sharing this week: 
  1. My kids helped me illustrate the creative process. (More kid posts: Embroidering your mistakes and how families grow in complexity.)
     
  2. Last week I mentioned how much I liked Frederic Gros’s A Philosophy of Walking. This week I read Rebecca Solnit’s Wanderlust: A History of Walking and her essay about woods and libraries, Garnette Cadogan’s wonderful essays, “Walking While Black” and “Due North,” Thich Nhat Hahn’s How To Walk, and a very interesting little book of diaries and haiku by Taneda Santoka, For All My Walking
     
  3. Answering the question, “Who has time for that?
     
  4. I happily blurbed Jez Burrows’ Dictionary Stories as a “brilliant literary remix.” But don’t take my word for it: Booklist said the book is “Perfect for fans of Austin Kleon.” (Hope they say that about my next book!)   
     
  5. Why I stick clippings in my books.
     
  6. Some good Show Your Work! material: a peek at the process behind Tom Gauld’s musical New Yorker cover and longing for the days of DVD extras.
     
  7. Molly Ringwald on The Breakfast Club
     
  8. Ear candy: a Quaker podcast of silence, Dvořák’s “Humoresque,” and pianist Leon Fleisher’s Two Hands. (I originally read about him in Reinventing Bach — this short documentary about the loss of his right hand is worth watching. At the very least, watch him play Bach’s “Sheep May Safely Graze.”)
     
  9. To stay sane, save the news headlines for later. (Remember: you can be woke without waking up to the news.)
     
  10. Feeding off the trolls, or: how to profit from your enemies
Thanks for reading! If you like this newsletter, forward it to a friend, buy a book, or tweet me some love

If you’re seeing this newsletter for the first time, you can subscribe here.

xoxo, 

Austin

PS. I was delighted to see Newspaper Blackout shelved next to Bill Knott’s I Am Flying Into Myself at Bookpeople here in Austin, TX. (You can buy all my books signed and personalized from them — they ship everywhere!)
Austin Kleon is the author of Steal Like An Artist and other books.

Subscribe to this newsletter

Follow me elsewhere:
Twitter
Twitter
Instagram
Instagram
Tumblr
Tumblr
Copyright © 2018 Austin Kleon, All rights reserved.



unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences