THE BROWN BROTHERS
In 1846, brothers Joseph (1820-1907) and Richard Brown (1822-1892) from Vaughan, Ontario, paid a visit to the Niagara Falls Museum..
Joseph and Richard were the only sons of James and Susannah Brown. James had been an early settler to the small, unincorporated community of Edgeley (part of Vaughan), moving there around 1800. The Browns were typical Edgeley residents- Pennsylvania German Mennonite farmers from Somerset, Pennsylvania. James was remembered in an 1885 biography as, “a man much esteemed by his neighbours, and was ever ready to bring his experience to bear in assisting new settlers in their difficulties.”
When they visited Niagara Falls in 1846, Joseph was 26 and Richard was 24. Both were married; Joseph to Catherine Burkholder, and Richard to Rebecca Burkholder (no known relation), and each had two children. Both went on to have large families which they raised on farms very close to one another. In fact, in the 1846 Toronto city and district directory, both were listed as living on Concession 5 Lot 2, which had previously belonged to their father (Joseph later moved to Lot 3). Raised Mennonite, the brothers converted to the Wesleyan Methodist church fairly early in life. Both men were considered conservative.
For the concluding part of this story, click the link below:
The Brown Brothers