Copy
View this email in your browser
Good News
There has been an overwhelming response to our virtual fitness classes that started at the beginning of January. How overwhelming you ask? Well, as of Friday, March 26 there have been 3,605 participants who have attend classes. Whoa! It brings me great joy to know that our members are keeping physically active, which in turn can help reduce stress, boost the immune system and improve sleep. Exercise is essential for well-being during this pandemic, so well done to those that have been participating and for having the motivation to do so. 
That's actually not all the good news. As some of you may know the instructors are paid through a grant which we were successful in receiving through the Seniors Community Grant Program. The confirmation of funding for the grant arrived later than anticipated. That said, we are able to continue programing in April and possibly a couple of weeks into May. Who knows by that time we can continue with virtual classes and also offer some in-person classes outdoors. So members, keep calm and carry on participating in Zumba, Yoga, Weights, or whatever you desire.

The Ministry for Seniors and Accessibility supported this virtual fitness classes initiative with funding through its Seniors Community Grant Program.

The Story of Viola Desmond and the
$10 note

Presented by the Visitor Services Team, Bank of Canada
Tuesday, March 30 at 1:30pm

The story of Viola Desmond and the $ note
In 2018, the Bank of Canada unveiled a new bank note featuring Viola Desmond—the first woman, other than royalty, to be featured on a Canadian bank note in regular circulation. Learn about the public consultations and selection process for this note, and discover the story of Viola Desmond.

Register Here

Elder Abuse Prevention (ON) presents
Legal Responses to Elder Abuse
Wednesday March 31 at 1:00pm

Legal Responses to Elder Abuse
Elder Abuse Prevention Ontario in partnership with the Prevention of Elder Abuse Coalition of Etobicoke and York (PEACE), and the North York Elder Abuse Network (NYEAN) would like to invite seniors, families, service providers and caregivers, to an upcoming online Knowledge Exchange Event entitled: Legal Responses to Elder Abuse.

Join us as we learn from our panel of experts: the Peel Regional Police, the Advocacy Centre for the Elderly (ACE) and the Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee (OPGT), who will discuss the law as it pertains to Elder Abuse and share what legal recourse options are available to help prevent and respond appropriately to cases.
 
Based on their individual experiences, panelists will share insights into legal approaches that can be taken, where either elder abuse or neglect is suspected, and how one can access services or other legal/enforcement supports in the community. Knowing why elder abuse is notoriously difficult to prosecute and resolve will also be covered in this presentation.

Following the formal presentation, an open panel discussion will allow participants to pose questions to each of the speakers and gain insights into how situations might be addressed. In the interest of privacy, specific personal situations will not be addressed, however EAPO will share contact information for each of the speakers to allow for follow up conversations to take place.

Register Here

Niagara Falls Community Health Centre
Thursday April 1 at 2:00pm
Please join us this Thursday as we learn about the Niagara Falls Health Centre and all the services that are available to you. This presentation has been rescheduled from the original March 25 date.

Niagara Falls Community Health Centre

The Niagara Falls Community Health Centre (NFCHC) is non-profit, community governed, multi-service health centre that provides primary health care, health promotion, and community development services all under one roof at no cost. NFCHC responds to the health needs of individual patients and their families, as well as to the health concerns of the community. They are committed to providing accessible services, the empowerment of individuals and communities, service integration, illness prevention and comprehensive client care.
Join us as we discus the Niagara Falls Community Health Centre, and the free supports, services, and programs they offer that are available to the community. Also, learn about the Seniors Dental Program, which is a new service offered at the Community Health Centre this Spring.

Register Here

Book Club
The German Girl
Wednesday, April 21 at 2:00pm

Book Club. The German Girl

A stunningly ambitious and beautiful debut novel, perfect for fans of Sarah’s Key and All the Light We Cannot See, the story of a twelve-year-old girl’s harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas asylum they had been promised is an illusion.

Curbside Pick Up
Pick up your book at the Victoria Avenue library. Please call 905-356-8080 and have your library card number ready. You can either make an appointment for Curbside pickup or, without an appointment by going to the back door, ringing the doorbell, and following the instructions there. Check it out on their website at https://my.nflibrary.ca/HoldsPickUp

How do I get an ebook?
The library has two digital platforms that customers can use to read ebooks or listen to audiobooks. Not all titles are repeated on both platforms but there is a great selection. Please look at our digital options by going to ebooks listed on the homepage of the website at my.nflibrary.ca. These are CloudLibrary and Hoopla. The video tutorials are very helpful and you will need to download these apps to your favourite reading or listening device before you begin. Also, you must also have a valid Niagara Falls Public Library card. If you have any questions or would like some help with these, please call the library at 905-356-8080 and the staff can help you get started.

For online Register Here

No internet. No problem. Join by Telephone: 1-855-703-8985
Enter the Meeting ID: 968 9644 5447
Press #
Press # again

Share Your Pet
 

Coronation members and their pets
Thank you to the members who submitted a picture of their fur baby. I'm sure during lockdown, pets are proving a lifesaver for many, providing companionship and consistency in uncertain times.

Top Left - Don Rocco's grand pup called BAKER. I love the pose Baker!

Top Right - This is Janice with her baby GUS.

Bottom Left - Mary Speck and CHLOE, adopted from the Fort Erie SPCA in February. Age 12 months.

Bottom Right - This is Bev Bessey's dog called EMMA who is 12 1/2 years old.

Thanks again to Don, Janice, Mary and Bev for sharing your pets with us.

Long Weekend Easter Fitness Schedule
On behalf of the Fitness Instructors
and myself, we would like to wish everyone a safe, healthy and
Happy Easter.

May your Easter Basket be full of Joy, Happiness and Peace
Today and Always

Easter Fitness Schedule
Good Friday, April 2 -Classes cancelled 
Saturday, April 3 - Cardio Fit is taking place 
Easter Sunday, April 4 - Class cancelled
Easter Monday, April 5 - classes are on!

Links to Classes 
Evening classes cancelled
 
Belly Dancing will no longer continue. We hope to have this running when we are back in person.
 
Stay Safe, Stay Well, Stay Connected!

All the best and Happy Easter!
Hanya
Twitter
Facebook
Website
Copyright © 2021 Coronation 50 Plus Recreation Centre, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.