Copy
Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.
Type Books


THE MOST WONDERFUL TIME OF THE YEAR!

The holiday season is upon us once again! Type Books is counting down the days till Christmas in the window of our Queen Street location. Our own Kalpna Patel has created a spectacular and sculptural Advent calendar, inspired by the Danish concept of "hygge," or what we in Canada call "coziness."  This cozy, charming window display will keep revealing books throughout the month.



DECEMBER NEW ARRIVALS

What Type thinks you should read this month.


 
THE HIGH LINE by James Corner Field Operations & Diller Scofidio & Renfro 
A firsthand, behind-the-scenes account of the construction of the High Line, the public "park in the sky" that has become one of the most beloved and visited destinations in New York City. This is the perfect book for anybody who has strolled the High Line, or who has dreamed of doing it.

THE BEST AMERICAN NONREQUIRED READING ed. Adam Johnson & 826 National
The contents of this anthology were selected by high school students in San Francisco who met every week for a year to read literary magazines, chapbooks, graphic novels and more. The students were guided by guest editor Adam Johnson, who recently won the National Book Award for his short story collection Fortune Smiles.

THE BEST AMERICAN INFOGRAPHICS 2015 ed. Gareth Cook
Infographics have become ubiquitous since computers made it a cinch to blend charts and graphs with eye-catching imagery. This book showcases visualizations from the worlds of politics, medicine, sports and arts and culture, providing a perfectly-designed window into the times in which we live.

THE BEST CANADIAN POETRY IN ENGLISH 2015 ed. Jacob McArthur Mooney
Canada's poetry scene is diverse, dynamic and, dare we say, underappreciated. This, the eighth edition of the annual anthology, features fifty of the finest Canadian poems published in 2014. A must-read for anyone with an interest in contemporary literature.

THE MARE by Mary Gaitskill
A girl loves her horse. It's a romantic trope that Gaitskilll spins into a brilliant and brutal novel. Gaitskill's girl is a disadvantaged Dominican girl, the horse a companion she sees only when she visits a wealthy white couple who want to connect with her. In beautiful prose, the book tackles the least beautiful of topics: classism, racism, loneliness. 

KILLING AND DYING by Adrian Tomine
Is this the best book cover of the year? It could be. It could also be one of the best books. In this collection of illustrated stories by one of today's top graphic artists, Tomine takes us into the homes and lives of hopeful and hopeless people who remind us an awful lot of ourselves.  

ROBO-SAUCE by Adam Rubin, illustrations by Daniel Salmieri 
FACT: Robots are awesome. They have lasers for eyes, rockets for feet, and supercomputers for brains! Plus, robots never have to eat steamed beans or take baths or go to bed. If only there were some sort of magical “Robo-Sauce” that turned squishy little humans into giant awesome robots….

TOUGH GUYS (HAVE FEELINGS TOO) by Keith Negley
Everyone has feelings – so says this spectacular picture book. It proves its point by showing tough guys at emotional and sometimes scary moments: an astronaut floating in space holds a photograph of his wife and child; a superhero eats his lunch alone atop a tall building; a tattooed biker weeps over a squirrel that died on the road. It will bring a tear to even the toughest among you!



FOREST HILL FAVOURITES
What's all the rage uptown.
 

FINDING WINNIE by Lindsay Mattick, illustrated by Sophie Blackall
During World War One, Captain Harry Colebourn rescued a bear cub in Ontario. He named the bear Winnie, then took Winnie to war. Colebourn's great-granddaughter recounts their incredible journey from a Canadian town to an army base in England to the London Zoo, where Winnie made a new friend, a boy named Christopher Robin.

A YEAR OF GOOD EATING by Nigel Slater
A classic cookbook is made. Over 250 recipes and ideas for good eating, with special seasonal sections for quick, weeknight eats. This book will make your holiday season delicious, and save you tons of time while doing it.

THE BIG GREEN TENT by Ludmila Ultskaya
In the tradition of Dostoevsky, Tolstoy, and Pasternak, this novel is consumed with politics, love, and belief. Set in Stalin's Moscow, it's what we think of when we think of great Russian novels – a revelation of life in dark times. 
 



TYPE READER 
Meet Laurie Fraser.

Laurie is a teacher at Upper Canada College, where she lives on the campus with her husband and two young girls and their 44 "brothers" who board at the school. She is a regular at our Forest Hill location, where many a lunch break has been wiled away chatting with our staff and poking around what she calls "a little jewel box of all my favourite things." 

"I feel so grateful that such a special store is in my neighborhood, " Laurie tells us, "It always feels good to visit TYPE."  We love Laurie's visits so much, we've named her our very last Type Reader of 2015.


If you were to write a non-fiction book about anything, what would it be?
Oh, I would love to write a cookbook. Other than reading, baking is my favorite downtime activity. My daughters bake with me. I have actually been in a cookbook book club. Read, and eat, and socialize. Perfection!

What book do you pretend to have read, but in fact have not?
Not sure as an English teacher I should 'fess up to that one! However, I can admit to not having finished many novels. After 60 or so pages if I don’t care about at least one character, I am usually done.

What book(s) are you reading right now?
Fates and the Furies by Lauren Groff. Beautiful writing and engaging characters. Up next is Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson.

Laurie answers the whole TYPE QUESTIONNAIRE on typebooks.ca



EVENTS & OTHER RELATED FUN THINGS
All events are at 883 Queen Street West, unless otherwise indicated.
 

Jessa Crispin, author of The Dead Ladies Project, in interview with Emily M. Keeler
Wednesday, December 9, 8-10

Interview & signing with Carrie Brownstein, author of Hunger Makes Me A Modern Girl
Thursday December 17, 7-8:30
Toronto Reference Library, 789 Yonge Street



 

Love the paper in our photos? It's from our neighbour, The Paper Place.

As always, if you want us to put a book on order or on hold, give us a call!
Type Queen West 416-366-8973
Type Forest Hill 416-487-8973

 
Follow us on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Instagram @typebooks and @typebooksforesthill
You signed up for our mailing list on our website, or in person at one of our stores.

Unsubscribe rgray@shelf-awareness.com from this list | Forward to a friend | Update your profile

You can contact us:

news@typebooks.ca

883 Queen Street West, Toronto, ON. M6J 1G5 | 416-366-8973
427 Spadina Road, Toronto, ON. M5P 2W4 | 416-487-8973


Copyright (C) 2015 Type Books All rights reserved.