View this email in your browser

    Colorado-based Singer-songwriter/Guitarist




Out July 15, 2019


Introducing Grammy Finalist and five-time Emmy Award-winning composer/producer/performer Mark Oblinger out of Boulder, CO.  Oblinger takes his well-deserved place at center stage as feature artist to release his debut album, High Water Line, this summer. Having had a lengthy career as a major-label nationally touring singer and guitarist, as well as an award-winning producer and songwriter, Oblinger is set to release his 12-track effort on July 15, 2019. His first single, No Regrets (Radio Edit),” drops on July 8th.


Oblinger's illustrious music career includes performing with highly successful national touring acts, chart-topping country rock stalwarts Pure Prairie League (“Amie”) and 7 years with Firefall (“Cinderella,” “You Are the Woman”). Oblinger also worked with Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Richie Furay (Buffalo Springfield, Poco) and in recent years with Garth Brooks, Amy Grant, John Oates, Jeff Hanna (Dirt Band), Drew Emmit and Vince Herman (Leftover Salmon), Billy Nershi (String Cheese Incident) and many others.

A vibrant, fresh approach to classic Indie Rock, High Water Line blends unusual musical elements with vivid lyrical pictures to reflect the common storylines of our lives and times. The lyrics deal with a woman's choice ("Julia"), the daily "work" of love ("Love Is"), the uncompromising nature of passion (“No Regrets”), an emphatic call to action/personal change ("Little Bird"), among other themes.

Oblinger pulled together a top-notch team of industry pros to create his new body of work, including producer John McVey (Chuck Pyle, Yonder Mountain String Band) and mix engineer James Tuttle (AAA radio favorites Big Head Todd, String Cheese Incident, Michael Franti, Hot Rize). He recorded the album with drummer Christian Teele, bassist Chris Engleman and Grammy-nominated multi-instrumentalist Nick Forster (Founder & host of nationally syndicated E-Town, Hot Rize) - all members of the eTones (who backed James Taylor, Rickie Lee Jones, Moby, Ben Harper, Joan Osborne, and many more). Other musicians on the album include bassist Greg Garrison (Leftover Salmon), pianist Eric Moon (Björk, Rare Silk, Jill Sobule), the Railsplitter's Pete Sharpe (mandolin) and Dusty Rider (banjo) plus background vocals by Robert Johnson (Steve Wonder) and Linda Lawson (Amy Grant, Garth Brooks, John Oates).

Colorado Music Hall of Famer Chris Daniels says about Oblinger’s new album, “High Water Line lives in that wonderful place between jam band and Jackson Browne.” Three-time Grammy winning producer Tom Wasinger raves, “Riveting and haunting songwriting, flawless musicianship, masterful production, and soaring above it all the golden throat of Mark Oblinger.”

Stay tuned for the debut solo album by Mark Oblinger - High Water Line - ready to spill onto music streaming platforms worldwide on July 15, 2019.

More about Mark Oblinger

Born at Fort Campbell, KY (army brat), Mark Oblinger's musical path was set for life when he picked up his first guitar at 14. Moving to Boulder, CO in 1979, he co-founded the Chutney Brothers and began writing songs in the pop style of Hall and Oates, Jackson Browne, Bonnie Raitt and U2. In 1984, he co-founded the band Future Tense with soon to be 3-time Grammy-winning producer Tom Wasinger where his songwriting took a turn towards the influences of Peter Gabriel, Genesis and The Police. In ’85, Oblinger took the lead vocalist role as part of Pure Prairie League and soon afterwards as lead vocalist/guitarist with Firefall, a band with a 30+ year career, 15+ albums (3 Gold, 1 Platinum) - best known for their hit singles, "You Are the Woman", which hit #9 on the Billboard Pop charts, and “Just Remember I Love You,” which hit #1 on the Billboard AC chart.

After quitting Firefall in the 90's to settle down and start a family, Oblinger continued songwriting and started producing other artists. He has written and produced over 30 CDs for kids – including the 1999 Parent's Choice GOLD Award winner, Jungle Jazz Joint Jump. Mark wrote, arranged and produced music featured on the Oprah Winfrey Show and won five Heartland Emmy Awards for his work on the PBS Children's show The Big Green Rabbit. In 2012, he was a Grammy Finalist for his Children's Jazz Symphony, JumpinJazz Kids - A Swinging Jungle Tale, featuring jazz legends Al Jarreau, Hubert Laws and Dee Dee Bridgewater 

Since 2015, Mark has toured the country with Indie/Folk powerhouse Rebecca Folsom, where he began to write and showcase the songs for his Indie Rock album High Water Line, kicking off with a summer 2019 release.

Mark Oblinger - High Water Line cover
Track Listing

1. High Water Line
2. Judgment Road
3. Julia
4. Little Bird
5. No Regrets
6. I Say Love
7. Let It Roll
8. Living Imitation
9. Poet in the Corner
10. Pressure Makes Diamonds
11. Hold Me Tonight
12. Love Is


Follow Mark Oblinger!
Copyright © 2019  EMPKT PR, All rights reserved.

Beatrice Kimmel

update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Effective Immediately PR · 325 Broadway Ste 303 · New York, NY 10007-3659 · USA