Are we solving the right problem?
View this email in your browser

Creative Facilitation: Bringing Meetings to Life

NEW LOCATION ADDED: Auckland, New Zealand 
 
Lively, fun training in the practice and performance of facilitation.  A workshop for anyone responsible for organising and leading meetings - whether it's internal, with stakeholders, for consultation, training, feedback or innovation. 

We've had very positive feedback on this workshop, often from experienced facilitators who are looking to develop new approaches and get more engagement from groups.

Auckland, NZ, May 1st. Early bird rate NZ$400 + GST Book now

Cambridge UK May 8th and 9th Book now

Are we solving the right problem?


Rodin's The ThinkerWe mentioned Matthew E May's book, Winning the Brain Game, in an earlier newsletter. One thing May explores is how teams rush to find solutions without really wondering if they are solving the right problem. He suggests we get an addictive hit of excitement from idea generation that draws us away from more careful analysis.

One counter-measure he suggests is a process called framestoring. Essentially, you take an initial statement of the issue or problem and get people to generate lots of different ways of stating the problem. 

For instance, the initial problem statement could be: how do we increase bookings at our restaurant? But maybe we need to think about whether this is the real issue... a framestorm could get us to think about broader issues around profitability, or what sort of restaurant we think we are, or whether we should be in the catering business at all.

We've tried this out as a short preamble to other activities and found it helpful in broadening perspectives.

Further reading: Fastcodesign article on generating questions instead of ideas.

We also believe that more reflective processes can also allow deeper questions to come to the surface. Sometimes it's better to let go of timed processes with fixed outputs and create more space for reflection. We often find this surfaces much more useful questions without pushing people too hard in any one direction.

Other Creative Facilitation Workshops

Designing for Aliveness
April 26th and 27th Melbourne, Australia

This masterclass is for people who work with groups and are frustrated by one-to-many processes such as presentations, talks, panels, Q & A, and facilitator-centric methods. You might be involved in facilitating workshops, or offering training, doing community engagement activities, teaching, lecturing, creating policy or working in a team. 
Details and bookings.

Unhurried Facilitation Residential
August 30 to September 1st Cambridge, UK
 
We're returning to Cambridge this summer to run our residential workshop. The theme this year is Unhurried Facilitation: building our capacity to respond flexibly to the unexpected, and create a sense of ease around challenging subjects.

This will be a great opportunity to reflect on and deepen your practice as a facilitator. You can register interest now on our event page.

Free Unhurried Webinar

There are a few places left on our Unhurried Webinar. We'll be hosting it on Monday March 13th in two alternative timeslots:
11.00 GMT (07.00 New York 22.00 Melbourne)
20.00 GMT (16.00 New York 13.00 San Francisco 07.00 Tuesday Melbourne)
Book your free place now
Contact us with any questions...

Viv McWaters, Australia 
viv@mcwaters.com.au 0417 135406
Johnnie Moore, UK 
johnnie@johnniemoore.com 07973 414263
Copyright © 2017 Johnnie Moore, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp