Click the "Display Images" link in your email.

CHIMA e-Alert

May 27, 2022

Inside this Issue:

Announcing the AHIMA Ballot Candidates

(Information from AHIMA Special E-Alert – May 13, 2022)

  • President/Chair-elect
  • Board Directors
  • Commission on Certification for Health Informatics and Information (CCHIIM) Commissioners
  • Council on Excellence in Education (CEE) Council Members
  • Speaker-elect of the House of Delegates

As you see every day, health information is complex, nuanced, and ever-changing. That’s why it’s vital that AHIMA has agile, dedicated leaders who can help the organization remain the leading voice and authority in health information—even in an age of uncertainty. The AHIMA Nominating Committee met this week to identify candidates with the specific traits and expertise needed to advance our strategic goals. They chose the following members to be considered for leadership positions.

President/Chair-elect (1 open position)

  • Mona Calhoun, PhD, MEd, MS, RHIA, FAHIMA
  • Jami Woebkenberg, MHIM, RHIA, CPHI, FAHIMA (AzHIMA Member)

Board Directors (3 open positions)

  • Aurae Beidler, MHA, RHIA, CHPS, CHC
  • Elizabeth Delahoussaye, RHIA, CHPS
  • Tanya Earle, RHIT, VHA-CM
  • Abel Guevara, MHIM, RHIA, CPHT, CDME
  • Rachel Podczervinski, MS, RHIA
  • Dasantila (Tila) Sherifi, PhD, MBA, RHIA 

CCHIIM Commissioners (1 open position)

  • Thomas (TJ) Hunt, PhD, RHIA, CHDA, FAHIMA

CEE Council Members (2 open positions)

  • Jennifer Holland, RHIA, CCS, CPC, CIRCC
  • Noni Jefferson JD, RN, CCS, CCDS, CPHQ
  • Jacqueline Levario-Reyes, MBA, RHIA, CTR
  • Mechel McKinney, MBA, RHIA

Speaker-elect of the House of Delegates (1 open position) 

  • Tonya Bates, RHIA
  • Deb Boppre, MSM, RHIA, CCS, CCS-P, FAHIMA
The entire AHIMA professional membership, with the exception of students, may vote by electronic ballot beginning July 11 at 8 a.m. CT through July 25 at 5 p.m. CT on the candidates for President/Chair-elect, Board of Directors, CCHIIM, and members of the CEE. Members of the 2022–23 AHIMA House of Delegates will vote separately beginning on August 1 for the Speaker-elect of the House of Delegates. Information on these elected roles and their duties is available under Who We Are. Information about the candidates for these positions will be posted on

You can view the election timeline on our website.

Special thanks to the 2022 AHIMA Nominating Committee:

Chair: Dianna M. Foley, RHIA, CHPS, CDIP, CCS

Committee Members:
Virginia (Ginna) Evans, MBA, RHIA, CPC, CRC, FAHIMA
Jennifer Garvin, PhD, MBA, RHIA, CCS, CPHQ, CTR, FAHIMA
Emmy Johnson, HIM, RHIA
Lakesha Kinnerson, MPH, RHIA, CPHQ
Karen C. Searcy, RHIA, CPC
Shannan Swafford, DHA- IS, RHIT, CHDA, CCS
Valerie J.M. Watzlaf, PhD, MPH, RHIA, FAHIMA

Ex-Officio Member—AHIMA CEO: Wylecia Wiggs Harris, PhD, CAE

2022 Grace Award!

The Grace Award honors healthcare organizations that demonstrate significant contributions to the healthcare industry, communities, and the HI field and for their contributions to our shared mission to Empower People to Impact Health. Nominations are open until July 1.
Nominate Your Organization Now!

Honor Your HIM Professionals’ Contributions with the 2022 Triumph Award!

The Triumph Awards are designed to recognize those special individuals who have made a difference in the HI profession. The Triumph Awards honor leaders in the HI field, reward contributions that build our knowledge base, recognize excellence in preparing future HI professionals and encourage fresh talent and new leadership.
Nominate a HI Leader Today!

Northern Colorado Health Information Management Association (NCHIMA)
Summer Meeting

July 15, 2022
Click Here for More Details!

Virtual Education

Click here to review the list of virtual educational opportunities.

Social Media

Facebook Facebook
Instagram Instagram
Website Website

Upcoming Events

Visit the Calendar

Virtual Education

View More HIM Education

Other Virtual Education


Forward Forward
Share Share
Tweet Tweet

Job Board

Visit the Job Board

More Jobs

View More HIM Jobs


Copyright © 2022 KnowledgeConnex, All rights reserved.

Facebook Facebook
Twitter Twitter
LinkedIn LinkedIn
Website Website